Microreviews

A Few Words on Big Ideas

Brevity can be liberating; sometimes the fewest words offer the most meaning. When applying for a job as a tutor in my second year of graduate school I was asked to describe my research in one sentence. One. Only. I stopped, thought, looked at the interviewer’s bookshelves, looked at her, looked at the floor, looked at my hands. All I could think was . . . daaah.

Microreviews for Kitties

Photo from: I Can Has Cheezeburger?

Then I started to talk and nailed it. One year in 20 words. So it can’t be too hard to write one sentence book reviews, right?

That’s what I’ve been doing with the ‘Reading’ and ‘Recommended’ sections in the sidebar — sharing quick thoughts on the big ideas of literature. Now I’m expanding the effort to include ‘Maybe, but . . .’ and ‘No! No! No!’, just to capture the full range of my reactions to what I read. You’ll notice that my definition of a book is fairly liberal.

Past microreviews are now stored on their own page with links to sites that carry more details. Feel free to leave any comments and suggest alternatives to what I’ve written. I’ll post them on the page to offer counterpoints.

Nothing, I hope, is truly incontestable in this puzzling world.

Leave a Reply

